Historic Speed Here you can find Targa Florio's history

04 May 2016 Historic speed

A top-rate field of participants put together thanks to the expert supervision of Giancarlo Minardi

Achieving 300 kilometres per hour on the roads that have written the history of motor car racing; narrow roads with the public cheek-to cheek with the track.  

Those who have tackled similar challenges are fully entitled to call themselves legends. And the Automobile Club d’Italia has brought these legends together for the marvellous event going by the name of Targa Florio Historic Speed. The most famous names of the Targa Florio car race will battle it out along the historic route running from Floriopoli to Cerda on Sunday 8 May. 

Nino Vaccarella, several times winner of the Targa will do the honours for a first-class list of participants including top names only. 

Jacky Ickx. Known as “La Peste engines”, who turned everything he touched into gold, excelling in several categories. The participation of the winner of the 24-hour Le Mans and Paris Dakar and almost Formula 1 world champion, will undoubtedly arouse great emotion among the fans set to line Sicily's streets.

As well as: Andrea De Adamich, Arturo Merzario, Carlo Facetti, Sandro Munari, Helmut Marko, Gijs Van Lennep,  Nanni Galli, Mauro Forghieri and many others.  Not just drivers, but men that brought their love of cars and their bravery onto these roads over the years. 

The event is presented by the Historic Speed promoter, Giancarlo Minardi:

 “Historic Speed is a leap into the past to celebrate an event that has represented and continues to represent a leading brand over 110 years of history. A brand that must look to the future in order to make “a Cursa” a point of reference for sport and tourism in this marvellous island called Sicily.

The modern vision of Vincenzo Florio of 110 years ago grasped the major potential of this race which was then developed over the years. Proof of this lies in the great enthusiasm of the drivers I contacted to take part in this event" concluded Minardi. 

The participation of the crew comprising the Chairman of FIA, Jean Todt and the Chairman of Aci, Angelo Sticchi Damiani in the procession from Floriopoli to Cerda will no doubt arouse curiosity. 

All we can do is wait!

Partner Istituzionali

  • Automobile Club Italia
  • AC Palermo
  • Regione Sicilia
  • Città di Palermo
  • ACI Storico
  • ACI Sport